I am getting bottleneck in 1st rounds every single time

I honestly don’t know what’s going on. After 50 interviews or more I just seem to get rejected so many times after the 1st round, of course there’s no feedback shared. I am just exhausted and don’t know how to correct or steer course.
*** Is this normal? **
*** What’s your experience?**
I felt like I was the perfect fit so many times and that it was pretty hard to actually find a fit that specific to me but it seems like companies don’t feel that way (I have 5-7 years experience) (A great looking Linkedin, lots of recommendations in it, etc.)

1 Like

Wow, @Jvalcarcel that has to be an incredibly frustrating experience. Especially when no feedback is shared, which could potentially help you at your next interview. Pulling in some expertise from our community that might help.

@RayoJoy, @h.auler @RoseWoo - any thoughts/advice/tips you can share with Juan?

2 Likes

I would like a bit more detail.

What method are you using to answer the interview questions?
Do you talk about Agile methodologies at all within the interview?

2 Likes

Hi, @Jvalcarcel I’d love to help but I’d need some more details as well.

By 1st interview you mean the screening interview or actually the interview with the person hiring?

Are you over the HR stage or you’re bottlenecking at HR?

The reason I’m asking is that the person rejecting you has different objectives depending on the hiring stage.

If HR is rejecting you, it can be two things: salary or lacking “crucial” skills.
When asked what is your expected salary, what is your answer? Are you giving a set price or a range? Is it too low or too high? Are you checking for the pay in your region?

Have you checked for crucial skills? I mean, technology Product Managers are required to know Agile, maybe you’re lacking a crucial skill for the industry you’re being interviewed for…